Continueing on from yesterday...after making it back to my room and uploading pictures and what not we had a group dinner in the Latin District. On our way there, a guy on a bike rode past and as he did he kissed my cheek. It was really shocking but I had to bite my tongue and keep walking. It's almost flattering in a way...but in an odd, very twisted way...if you know what I mean. We took the Metro to St. Michel and could not find this little street the place was on because it was so badly marked. Kyra and I met up with a few other girls from ISA who were lost also. They took out a map and just randomly started walking in one direction. We didn't want to follow because they looked pretty clueless, and we weren't about to get more lost that we already felt we were. Finally a group of four guys stopped to help us and they had no idea where it was either...we used google map on one of their Iphones--how pathetic is that, even the locals had no idea where this place or street was haha. So when we got to dinner I found there was a whole lot more of us then I had originally thought: the business ISA group was also there though, so that added to the numbers. Dinner was really great, and very entertaining. I got to know some really awesome people pretty well (Liz, Kara, Jacob, Janet, Kate, and Monica). Like I said before, everyone is really nice and I get along well with everyone. It's a really gret group from the looks of it.
Dinner was LONG, but good. We had a select menu and I got a really yummy hot goat cheese salad, rumpsteak and fries with mushroom sauce, and chocolate mousse. OH MY MY was the mousse good, it tasted like cold brownie badder...so yummy. Dinner lasted until just after 10...but it was well worth the time. Janet, I have come to find is extremely funny and says just about anything to get a laugh out of people- she really is hilarious. Liz Kara and I go really close too. Unfortunately none of them are in my classes, but we have made plans for friday to go have a picnic under the effeil tower with some wine and cheese. Plus I have excursions and other time with them as well.
So after dinner my little group decided to go watch the light show at the Effeil Tower. We took the metro and sadly, a really random crazy guy started yelling and Liz in French. We have no idea why, she wasnt talking- so it's not like he was offended by her English or her being loud. He must have just been some crazy dude, or had had a bad day and needed someone to take it out on. Regardless, it left Liz close to tears. We all comforted her and Janet pretty much led the way to the Tower. I've come to think of her as Mama, she doesnt like it, but I think it fits her to a T haha. So we watched the little sparkle show and took a bunch of pictures and then headed our seperate ways inside the metro. Kyra and I were worried that the Tram was going to be closed already, but Amanda and Jacob were with us and luckily it wasnt so we made it home around midnight. We had to walk in really quietly. We did a bit of reading for our class today and then went to sleep.
Oh did I mention the bathroom in the shower ? Let me just say, it's laughable. There is a little window smack dab in the middle of the wall so you have to crouch over or the neighbors can see in. Also there is no real shower head, it's on the side and comes off, so I was literally sitting in the shower this morning so I wouldnt be seen by the neighbors. It's definately an experience using that shower.
So, today marks the first day of my Art and Architecture of Paris class. We start in the Latin District--Musee de Cluny and Arenes de Lutece are the places we are viewing today! It should be really fun. I am about to go meet Alex at our metro stop--The Porte d'Orleans and we are going to head over to the Musee together! It should be a very very good day!
No comments:
Post a Comment