WOW, so I have a lot of catching up to do...so let's get started.
So June 9th was a very lazy day. I had French class like I do every week day, but it was fun. We played a game of catch and conjugate- we were given a verb and had to conjugate it correctly. Adding fun to learning is always interesting and makes it a bit easier...I think anyway. Then we played another game-we seperated into groups and me and two other people were candidates and we went around to each groupand they interviewed us (in French) for an apartment and if we would be suitable for their complex. I got voted "yes" for 2 of 3 groups! The third was a no because I want pets and I'm not a vegetarian. This guy in my class, ironically his name was Justin, but anyway-he picked me for both games...it was a bit...flirty? haha! After class I met up with Cara Li and Janet and ate lunch in the gardin at the Catho. Liz and I had a craving for Mickie D's so we went to find one in Monparnasse--less than mediocre I must say. There was no Art and Architecture class so I went home after lunch and caught up on the bachelorette.
So, this was the weekend I was supposed to go to Belgium...but I ended up having a really fun weekend anyway. On saturday I slept in, and went to a flea market in Malakoff. I bought some really pretty stuff (can't say cuz if you are ready I don't want to give presents away). I spent a good 2 hours or so at the flea market. It was incrediable how much junk there was, but there was a lot of really nice stuff as well. If you have never been to a flea market, i highly recommend it (amazing things at offordable prices and a lot of trinkets and trash that will make you giggles). All the people were really friendly too, and they all wanted to speak english with us...it was kind of funny. After the flea market, Kyra and I met Emily at the catacombs. The line was intense, so freaking long. Thank the lord we only in it for about an hour-I don't think I would have waited much longer but I really wanted to go down there. It was sooo creepy. We walked for what seemed like forever in these damp and dark passageways. There were a bunch of cells around the place which were pitch black, I avoided my eyes. My favortie part was the entrance from the passageways to the tomb- Arret! C'est l'empire du mort! Stop! This is the empire of the Dead! How creepy is that?! When you walked through that, there were massive amount of piled bones and skulls around you. It's a rat's paradise i must say. It was also freezing down there-which made it even worse. There were a few times when the skulls made shapes-the creepiest was the shape of a heart made of skulls. Around the entire place there were little riddles about death-it was disturbing. By the time we got out of the catacombs i was an icecube and had seen enough piles of bones to last me a life time. Plus, we had walked under the city for so long we ended up in the most random place. We had to find our way back to the main street-we ended up stopping a few times to go shopping ( I ended up getting a few shirts on sale 50%!). That took up pretty much all afternoon, so when we were finished I met up with Cara and Jenna to watch the 3rd Place world Cup march between Germany and Uraguay. We were going for Uraguay, but Germany won. It was still a very good, exciting game, and we had a very good time. I tired heinekin for the first time, it was ok...carlsburg is better! We went to the souvenir shop right across the street (St. Michel-our new favortie hangout) and I got a really good deal on a jersey and skarf-I got a ronaldo portugal jersey and a skarf that said espana on it for the Finale. It was pretty late and we had to leave sowe wouldnt be late for the metro.
Sunday was a lot of fun. I saw so many things that I wanted to see. In the morning, after a great sleep in, I planned out what I wanted to do over the next few weeks ( what I wanted to see and the metro stops to take). Before the official day started, I hit the flea market again, and got a few more things for people (again can't say because some of you may be reading this). Then Kyra and I made our way to some of the key places we wanted to go. We started out with St. Germain de Pres- one of the oldest churches in paris. It was gorgeous--and looked extremely old, which I love. I think I was a bit more interested in the amazing black Ferrari in front of the church...LOVE! Then we ate lunch at a resteraunte called les deux magots....the two magots. It's a landmarked place, but it really was not that good. But it was cute and fun to say we have eated there. Afterwards we went to the Delacroix museum which is supposed to be inside his actual house. It was kind of boring, definately not my favorite place. But I saw some painting I recognized and I must admit his house was very cute. The next stop on our ageda was the Opera Garnier. It took us a few minutes to find it because the signs and the map in the metro had a different name than was on the front of the building. But it is an amazing building. Unfortunately it was not open to the public because it was preparing for a show that night. It was still fun to go see where the phantom of the opera lives. Because we were not able to go inside, we had some extra time, so we went to St. Sulpice. Unfortunately, the cathedral was under construction, but it was beautiful, especially on the inside. Luckily we had made it just in time to hear an amazing choir perform. It was really touching and their sound was extremely....there is not a word...moving. We had to leave pretty quickly after that to get to the finale at the eiffel tower. I met Jenna at Porte d'Orleans and we went over together. IT WAS CRAZY! So many people, but dominately for Spain. It was so hard to find spots to stand but we finally did after about 20 minutes of searching. About 30 minutes into the game people got up and left and Jenna and I got to finally sit down. We met some americans there and talked with them-they were really cool. Suddenly a riot broke out and people started to scatter-flares were set off and some thugs were throwing glass bottles into the crowd. It got really crazy...but we stayed to see the end. SPAIN WON!!!! YAY!!!! IT WAS A HUGR PARTY AT THE EIFFEL TOWER! People yelling and cheering. We started jumping around and cheering with a bunch of rando's but it was sooo fun! It was the worst, sweatest, smelliest metro ride home ever, but so worth it to experience that party!!!
Monday was a rude awakening, getting up early when I had such great days of sleeping in. And not only was it early, but a crazy rainstorm woke me up. The wind slammed our windows shut and it woke me up about two hours earlier than I needed to be up. If the weather had kept up like that I would not have gone to class, but it lighted up. I still had to use an umbrella and it was windy so for the first time i was actually chilled. I got to French class, thankfully not drenched, but a bit wet. We worked on l'imperitif or commands. In art and arch we had our second day at the Louvre. We saw French and Italian painints. There were a bunch of Napoleon that I loved. And of course we saw the mona lisa- which really is not that impressive, but still draws so much attention. You can't help but be facinated by it's...well...strangeness. We took a quiz also, but it was very easy. I stayed behind in the Louvre alone after class and looked at some of the Roman and Greek statues. I left a bit early to find the St. Severin but I could not find it anywhere so I just went home to do my homework. I had to work on a presentation-over Mont St. Michel. It was pretty easy, just a lot to translate. So when we were about to go to sleep, Fernanado, the alussive Italian, went down and knocked on Madame Lefur's door and they were talking in hushed voices. Then the door rang and we saw a man in black with a briefcase come in from our window and we hear him talking to Fernando. We were convinced it was the Italian Mafia and made up a bunch of situations. It was funny, but at the same time so weird. Fernando is very strange ha...we never see him. We then figured the man was a doctor, but he soon left and Fernando come upstairs laughing...so maybe it wasnt a doctor. Why Why Why? We locked both the locks on our dorr that night.
No comments:
Post a Comment